Drake – Houston, TX


Owner’s Information

Owner’s Name:


Contact Info:

[email protected]


Houston, TX

Posted on:

April 1, 2023

Pet’s Information

Pet’s Name: Drake


I adopted Drake from BARC in Houston, Texas around March of 2020. I was told he was approximately 6 months old, but was not sure. He was neutered at the shelter the day before I picked him up. I went to the shelter looking for another dog, but ran into Drake. It was his first day at the shelter so he was not eligible for adoption. I waited three days and came back on the FIRST day he was eligible for adoption.

He was so calm and easily got into the car. He obviously already knew how to ride in a car and was leash trained. When I got home, I was pleased to find out he was already potty trained. He walks to the door, sits,  and whines once or twice. In no time, he was on my schedule. He waits to use the restroom after I have had my morning coffee and is normally fine until I get home around 6:00 PM.

He is on normal flea, tick, and heartworm prevention. I normally give him any of those medications on the first of the month. He can be a bit of a picky eater. He normally has Blue Buffalo dry food. He will protest every few weeks until I mix his food up with cooked chicken or wet food.

He is great on walks, with children, adults, and other animals. I have never seen him show aggression. I normally take him on one 30-minute walk a day and one 1-hour walk on the weekend. He will still want to run and play after that time. He needs a yard to run.

At home when it is just him and me all he wants to do is sleep and cuddle. If guests or other dogs are around, he does like to be the center of attention. He is a really great dog. He and I have had a great time these three years. I wish I was in a situation in which I could give him all he needs.


Breed: American Stafford Terrier

Gender: Male

Date of Birth: September 1, 2019

Color/Markings: Grey and White

Weight: 50lbs.

Size: Large

Re-Home Fee: $75

Reason for re-homing:

Drake is an amazing, friendly, and energetic dog. His energy and need to run do not fit with my lifestyle. I currently live in a rental with no fenced yard. It also looks like I will have to move into an apartment when my current lease is up. Not being able to run and exercise daily in his own yard is not fair to him.
Other than that he is perfect. No excessive barking, no chewing, no aggression. I really think he would do well with a family and a large yard.

Spayed or Neutered: Yes

Microchipped: Yes

Current on Vaccines: No

House-trained: Yes

Crate-trained: Yes

Litterbox-trained: No

Pet Friendly: Yes

Child Friendly: Yes

Additional Images:

Please complete the required fields.
Please use this form to report any information on a pet listing that does not meet our listing requirements.