Ming Mei (May) – Gainesville, FL


Owner’s Information

Owner’s Name:

Brianne Hoover

Contact Info:

[email protected]


Gainesville, FL

Posted on:

August 12, 2023

Pet’s Information

Pet’s Name: Ming Mei (May)


"Ming Mei" (May), is such a loving and trusting girl who would love to live in a fear-free home environment with activity and enrichment.  Her life is being wasted in her current situation and she is very very smart and so even her mind is getting no 'exercise'.

She is a very quiet girl who rarely barks (I've had her almost 1 year and she has barked 3 times, and usually at something silly like a plastic bag).  If you live in an apartment, she is the perfect apt. buddy because she is so quiet.

  • She was a stray and so no past info on her exists
  • Loves to play with other dogs, plays fetch, loves to run around in fenced area such as a small dog park
  • She is pretty quick to figure out puzzle boxes for treats
  • In her current situation (living with me) she extremely bored and lonely!!
  • I don't have the time  she needs to keep her body and mind active
  • Other than in fenced area, has never been off leash, so I don't know if she will run off.  She got out my door one time and did come to me when I called
  • Doesn't like to be on the bed like most dogs, but loves laying on the couch next to her person, especially at end of the day when chillin' with some tv
  • Is scared of shadows, flashing light (lightening, flashlights, etc.) will hide in coziest/darkest part of a room.  Walking her in the evenings when there are shadows, she is a bit timid, but has improved over the past year.
  • Crate trained and is comfortable in it. Even when I'm home I leave the crate door open and she will go lay in it.  She has a nice doggie bed in there so she is cozy.  I only close the crate if I'm leaving the apt. for extended time (usually over 3 hours).  But I do walk her to be sure she has gone potty so no accidents happen inside.

I work 10hrs/day, sometimes weekends and she is crated that entire time.  In the past I was able to leave her crate door open and she wouldn't have any accidents, but it might happen.

She would thrive in a home with someone who is active; but doesn't necessarily have be on the "extreme" end of active for her to enjoy a richer/fulfilled life. Having another dog in the house would also be a plus, but not necessary if her person(s) interacts with her.

Please give this wonderful girl a place in your home - she deserves a better life

Breed: Blackmouth Cur Mix

Gender: Female

Date of Birth: February 14, 2020

Color/Markings: Golden Brown

Weight: 60lbs.

Size: Medium

Re-Home Fee: $75.00

Reason for re-homing:

I do not have the resources or the time to provide the level of enrichment/activity "Mei" requires to have a normal/excellent quality of life. Worst case scenario is that she will be returned to a shelter situation by September 1, 2023.

Spayed or Neutered: Yes

Microchipped: Yes

Current on Vaccines: Yes

House-trained: Yes

Crate-trained: Yes


Pet Friendly: Yes

Child Friendly: Unsure

Additional Images:

Please complete the required fields.
Please use this form to report any information on a pet listing that does not meet our listing requirements.

Protected by Security by CleanTalk