Phoebe – Grand Rapids, MI

 

Owner’s Information

Owner’s Name:

Kim McCormick

Contact Info:

6166350629
[email protected]

Location:

Grand Rapids, MI

Posted on:

September 28, 2022

Pet’s Information

Pet’s Name: Phoebe

Biography:

Phoebe is looking for a forever home with absolutely NO cats, small dogs, or other small pets.
THE GOOD: She is a super friendly, playful, energetic, sweet girl. She loves her humans, giving lots of kisses and affection, and often wants to be a lap dog. She is fully housebroken and crate trained, and will let you know when she needs to go outside. She LOVES to play chase/fetch with a tennis ball and will come with a bag of tennis balls and a Chuck-It launcher. She is a quick learner and catches on fast to commands. She walks well on a leash and loves to go for walks. She plays well with other dogs her size and larger. She's well-behaved in the house when someone is not home.
THE BAD: She is HIGH ENERGY so she needs lots of exercise, play time, training, and socialization. She was poorly socialized in her previous home so she can be territorial and defensive of food, toys, or anything else she perceives as hers (resource guarding) - including her favorite humans. She also lacked basic behavior training when we got her though we have now taught her some commands. She will need additional work to be her best self. She has a HIGH prey drive and cannot be trusted around smaller pets - she chases cats. She does play and interact positively with smaller dogs UNTIL something triggers her defense mechanisms and she grabs them by the neck and shakes them. She tries to herd or corral humans - nipping at the heels and backs of legs, pushing or headbutting legs, circling. She barks enthusiastically and loudly when excited. She digs when bored.
Phoebe needs a home where are her physical and mental needs are meet. The ideal family for her is a very active person or family, with a fenced yard or an inground fence ( or a willingness to walk and run her multiple times a day), and absolutely no small pets. She loves kids though she can be a little too enthusiastic and may knock them over so not recommended for kids under 5. Experience with high energy breeds and willingness to provide training is preferred.

Breed: Border Collie/Australian Shepherd

Gender: Female

Date of Birth: February 1, 2019

Color/Markings: Black & White

Weight: 45lbs.

Size: Medium

Re-Home Fee: $125

Reason for re-homing:

I adopted her a couple months ago when her previous owner passed away, as a companion to my male dog who is similar in size and energy level. However, she is territorial & reactive which has resulted in injuries to 3 small dogs. I didn't want to give up on her and have worked with her and with a trainer to manage her behavior, but I realize that this situation is not safe for her or my small dogs in the long term.

Spayed or Neutered: Yes

Microchipped: Yes

Current on Vaccines: Yes

House-trained: Yes

Crate-trained: Yes

Litterbox-trained: No

Pet Friendly: Yes

Child Friendly: Yes

Additional Images:

Please complete the required fields.
Please use this form to report any information on a pet listing that does not meet our listing requirements.